Skip to content

The fourteenth rant…bad placements.

July 16, 2012

Now… where do I even begin with this one?  The off-ramp cache? The restaurant dumpster cache?  the parking lot skirt lifter?  Oooh I know,  the fencepost in someone’s yard cache. Yep, you’re right, they all suck.

I am all for going back to the grassroots of this game, when a cache would get you to a significant place you would not have found without geocaching.  Are people really so lazy they couldn’t be bothered to do anything more than just hide a tupperware?  Think of all the good ones you have been to yourself, check all the caches that have plenty of favorite points, please do more than just look at a map and find an empty space to fill in.

I personally only own 3 caches, I wasn’t going to just throw them anywhere, I gave it considerable thought and planning before putting them out, if you don’t like them, it’s your prerogative to do so. I don’t really think any cacher should be allowed to own more than 5 of them, if you archive one, you may place another.  There is way too much geo-junk out there and players need to “man up” to their responsibilities to others in the game, not to mention the environment.

Recently I was reading a forum where one cacher was giving kudos to another in the game for maintaining close to 200 separate caches. Well, I didn’t want to be the one to break it to him, but the guy does not maintain his caches, he archives them when someone says “needs maintenance”. (and chances are he is not going to retrieve them either)

We need to pressure groundspeak for a few new rules in the game, firstly, a limit on how many a person could place, secondly, tighter rules on where they can be placed, no parking lots, no school yards, no hi-ways.  Imagine how much more thought would go into placement of caches if there were limits put on how many you could put out. Wouldn’t you be more likely to pick a good spot?

I can’t tell you how many caches I have found, and not logged because geocaching.com doesn’t have a drop down selection for “this one sucked the big one”.  I just simply don’t log it in my online finds.  I really don’t believe in telling off cache owners on their log page, so just like my mother taught me, “if you can’t say anything nice don’t say anything at all”  Others may enjoy these crappy finds, I do not.

If you look at any geocaching map in a large urban area you will probably see thousands around town. How many of these do you think will get you to an interesting or historically significant area?  Once again it pays to read cache descriptions.  If it really is ” not about the numbers”, why go and find just any old piece of crap anywhere someone chooses to hide one?  If only people would refuse to go and find these caches, I’ll bet a lot fewer of them would be getting placed.

We as cachers should not contribute to the demise of this game, it’s a good game when responsible players maintain their caches in interesting areas to explore.  It becomes crappy geo-junk when placed in uninteresting areas of no significance whatsoever.

I used to log every single cache that our family found,  only when I retrieved a logbook from one of my caches did I realize that not everyone logs every find online.  There were several names in the logbook who did not bother to log on at geocaching .com to record the find.   I thought about this for a while, couldn’t figure out why players would not take credit for this, and then it hit me, the fun is in the finding of a cache, not in the recording of a find.

It would seem there are way more crappy finds out there than good ones, and it would also seem to me that the players who are contributing to condoning crappy hides (by finding them) are the ones who have thousands of finds and have nothing else close to home to go find to get their smiley for the day. To them I say “Get a second hobby, give it a rest for a few weeks, what ever did you do before geocaching came along?”

I figured out that we could find 4 caches a week for the next 5 years and still have not found every cache with in a 20 km radius to my house.  Take it down a peg, These crappy hides you go and find, could not have possibly been enjoyable, Why did you even bother?  I find it ironic that it gave you a “smiley” for the day, because it wouldn’t have given me one. Stop finding crap., just say no.

One Comment
  1. 13 month geocacher permalink

    As a relatively new geocacher with only 120 finds, I must agree with this! I will be a cacher for the rest of my life, but I have definitely lost some of my excitement over it due to the amount of boring hides. Ive got better things to do with my time! In my area, there is even a chain of caches placed in light post skirts at various mattress stores. Seriously??? How boring can you get? Who wants to visit all the mattress stores in town? Sheesh…

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 29 other followers

